Light Girls And Dark Girls: This Is What Happens When You Internalize Racism

Thought Catalog

Dark GirlsDark Girls

I am a dark girl. And I don’t remember when I first realized this but I do remember being made to feel ugly for most of my childhood because of it. I have been called just about every name in the book that you can think of, and in several languages too. Even when you manage to decolonize your mind and let go of the pains of the past, it is a defining aspect of your childhood. It leaves you with scars and painful memories of a time that you were made to feel less than because of something as ordinary as skin color. But this isn’t about racism as we generally know it, this is about colorism – the internalization of racism within communities of color.

This past weekend, the documentary Light Girls came out. And I watched it, not knowing exactly what to expect. When the…

View original post 860 more words

Leave a Reply

