The Nidhi Kapoor Story : A Review

I am usually very picky with the genres I read. And with the need to escape into a book these days, I prefer to read romances and light hearted comedy and mythological adaptations. Frankly, The Nidhi Kapoor Story fits neither of the above, but I’m glad I did read it.

Nidhi Kapoor is the Bollywood Star of the generation. She inherits her legacy from her father, Nishant Kapoor and has been consistently making her mark on Bollywood. However, just when everything seems perfect, strange things begin to happen which effect Nidhi and all around her.

ACP Prakash and Rutuja, a photo journalist are out to solve the case in time and in the process get to understand each other better than ever.

What I initially thought would be a cookie cutter story, I am happy I was stumped with the way the plot progressed. Each time I thought I was right, I was proven wrong. The book does not shy away from violence, and the killings and interactions are a brutal read, but they pull you in. There is a sense of realism mixed in with the story, and yet an almost dreamlike appearance to the book which I fear describes Mumbai and its people. 

Not everyone is who they seem, and somehow after a point, you just marvel at how much one doesnt really know about people. The story does tick all the elements though : suspense, romance,murder, mystery and the big reveal. But I like that it wasnt unnecessarily dragged out and the story remained crisp till the end.

The story, honestly, played out like a movie for me. I could actually picture Deepika Padukone as Nidhi , Ranveer Singh as Prakash and Alia Bhatt as Rutuja . 

As one reads the book, its the tiny details which you grow to love. For example, I loved the tiny snippets describing Mumbai life , food and places scattered throughout the book.  I love how the book was divided according to the 5 vices and the story took shape and reflected all of them. I am truly a sucker to these kind of metaphorical content and makes me appreciate the story more.  I love growing to understand the little things that added a level of depth to each character. Prakash’s strong need to pursue things till the end, or Nidhi’s unusual childhood. Its truly fits the adage, that its circumstances that makes one who they are. 

The end and the reveal was something that came across after a character died; however, even after it is revealed who it is, my mind instantly travels back to all the crimes,and makes you wonder how the hell could I have missed it. 

Though Saurabh Garg may be a first time writer, he does have a knack to reel the reader in and then, hook  him/her. The language is crisp, simple yet leaves an impact. The characters are impossibly real and stark and leaves one with a hate-love relationship towards them. 

If you’re looking for an engaging, thrilling read which helps you escape tedious life and a plot that makes sense and leaves you with a thoughtful feeling, The Nidhi Kapoor Story is for you 🙂

Read more on : TNKS Website

Buy It On Flipkart / Amazon

2 thoughts on “The Nidhi Kapoor Story : A Review

  1. Lovely review. I am glad to have found someone that enjoyed the book. I read it too and I know what you mean.. Interesting choices to play the roles for sure as they would not be my choices for the show… Lol. 🙂
    Cheers n tc.
    Usha

    1. Cheers. Its an interesting book to get into. And makes you think about the plot gone by at the end.
      They were selected , firstly, as I thought it would be nice to see another side of them and secondly due to small characteristics in the characters. Like Rutuja being small and petite and having long hair flowing in the wind.

      Cheers 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.